In the Lion’s Den – impelled to pray? – Do it!

I thought my last blog was about protection… I’m sure it was as the following day someone close to me needed protection but that’s another story.  This story is short – one that I will elaborate on when I find my notes… 

Sometimes, I don’t know if you have experienced it, I get the urge – the impulse to pray.  I can’t explain the feeling – I don’t usually know why.  I’ve had times when I just feel impelled to pray. 

It was a Saturday night about 6 or so weeks ago.  Approx 11.30pm I stirred from my sleep, disturbed.  I had a lot of my mind but this was different.  An uneasiness about it – I felt I had to pray.  I sat at the dining table and opened my bible. Read a few bits and pieces and pondered them, thinking perhaps I needed to clear my thought for a particular friend who had just learnt of his fathers death.  I read a part that was all inclusive – everyone.  I knew I wasn’t praying then for this person but against human beliefs, principalities, etc – why and what I had no idea but I needed to find peace.

Ephesians 6:12

For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

I turned the pages in the bible again and it opened on Daniel – the lions den.  I wondered if I was praying for my friend Daniel… but reminded myself I was needing to find a clear sense of freedom from darkness, from the den of bondage so to speak, not person.  How did Daniel in the bible do it – I studied this for some time until I felt that peace that I’m sure Daniel felt – oneness with God, being in God’s kingdom where there is no sense of darkness, no den of fear, hurt.  I turned to Science and Health and laughed….It was just the way I felt at 3am in the morning. 

SH 174:9-174:14    “The footsteps of thought, rising above material stand points, are slow, and portend a long night to the traveller; but the angels of His presence — the spiritual intuitions that tell us when “the night is far spent, the day is at hand” — are our guardians in the gloom”.

I thought my work was done and my body tried to move from the chair but my mind said not yet.  Keep praying – I was raising my thought out of the false sense of a life separate from God. I actually felt very at peace but the need to pray hadn’t left me and I couldn’t resist it even when if I wanted to.  It was about 5am when I felt I could go to bed and rest.  I had to be up early – a friend was visiting that day.

She arrived a couple of hours later than expected.  We had our normal chat then she mentioned she had been up most the night (I assumed she had been out!).  I told her I didn’t sleep – I was up studying and had a ‘long night’ and had to laugh cause this book ‘Science and Health’ quoted exactly how I felt at about 3 am!    She said she had to tell me something… I listened as best I could without interrupting. 

She had been contemplating ending her mortal existence the night before.  It was about 3ish that she decided a noose might hurt too much at the last moment, it was about 5ish that she gave up with her gas endeavour.  I didn’t ask her if her house smelt of gas – no point, it was that her thought needed rising up out of the false sense of darkness.  She thanked me!  I said I didn’t do anything really, I just had to pray and I did.  She said nah she kept getting angel messages and fighting them but they wouldn’t stop!  I smiled,  God works in mysterious ways to human sense.  

God’s thoughts are the only thoughts we should listen too, passing to man…  I gave her a reminder her that she must ‘stand porter at the door of thought’.  There is no den in reality, no depression, no darkness – only Life Truth Love. I checked that she was still seeing her psychologist explaining it didn’t matter but she had to be  something.  Doing nothing is even worse. She confirmed she was.

So I guess my point is, if you ever feel the need to pray don’t hesitate, just do it until you find that inner peace and oneness with God and all of his creation.  You never know what good you may be doing.

The second point – no matter  how ANYONE comes across (I would have never guessed) – maintain in your thought the true identity of every man woman and child as a perfect free child/son/daughters of God. It is your duty to God. 

Amen 🙂

I’ll update this later with the references.  I did jot them down somewhere.  I just want to put it down before so it’s not years before I record it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

