Atonement

So for some reason yesterday I decide to explore what ‘Atonement’ means to me.  What happens today – I decide to read the latest copy of the Journal – open it up and there, right in front of me is an article title ‘Provable Theology’. Absolutely wonderful article… And ‘lets turn to another theological doctrine – atonement’. Isn’t that just typical of God, I ask a question and he answers – right time, right place for me.

‘Historically, the doctrine of atonement is the answer to original sin… and is concerned with how humanity pays for the sins of Adam and Eve… It boils down to the destruction of sin and suffering through our reconciliation to God.  It is this reconciliation that Christ Jesus demonstrated for us… Reconciling ourselves to God, we lose any and all sense of sin, suffering, disease, sickness….It’s that sinful sense that’s destroyed. Nothing else is destroyed. That’s what the atonement does…. Jesus’ mission opened the way for us to be reconciled to God… It’s all about our relationship with God and turning our thought from sin, suffering, and sickness to life, health, and harmony, on the basis that God, divine Love, is infinite.  As our thought changes, we experience reformation. God’s mercy, His great love for us, washes us clean, and we no longer suffer under the belief of past mistakes or false thoughts and actions. As we spiritually learn of our at-one-ment with God, our true atonement, our unity, we leave off all elements that would try to separate us from God… We see our oneness with God, and understand our pure origin, untouched by any fall from God’s grace.’ Lynn Jackson – The Christian Science Journal June 2012

Earlier today when I was reading one of the other articles, ‘Go and do likewise’ I felt such compassion for the writer that my eyes started to well up. Then it occurred to me – the momentary feeling of being left out and the thought that I’ve never had a ‘teacher’ then another thought immediately preceded – I have a teacher – Christ is my teacher, then another thought – I have two teachers – Christ and Christian Science.  What a revelation – that momentary feeling of being left out vanished totally.  Christ is my teacher and the Science of Christ – the understanding of the precepts and truths that he taught. Just marvelous and a wonderful feeling of blessedness and gratitude.

Tonight I asked God for guidance and I think – Not my will but Thine be done. Gods will is always perfect and harmonious – my relationship with him.  Relationship is built on trust – Trust in God, trust in Man.

I looked up eyes in the S&H glossary – ‘Spiritual discernment, not material but mental. ‘

Discerning Truth – God from error, the lie, the serpent, the suggestion that man can be separated from his maker. Discerning God, good; the real from the unreal, the Spirit from the material, the incorporeal from the corporeal,  the immortal from the mortal. Discerning God’s thoughts from carnal thoughts. Knowing the truth, living the truth, being of the truth. “Ye shall know the truth and the truth shall set you free”

This bit however got my attention more – ‘Jesus said, thinking of the outward vision, “Having eyes, see ye not?” (Mark viii. 18)’

Thinking of the outward vision – what do I see – mortality or immortality – Man made in God’s image and likeness or man-made of the flesh. What am I accepting into my consciousness?  My relationship with God is built on Truth, trusting in him and being trustworthy.  Trust God, trust man.  When I trust God, I must in turn trust the man of God’s creating.  Why? because my thoughts are the body of my experience – and having the mind of Christ I must ‘see’ all of God’s creation as he made it – very good.  I must not only see myself as a child of God but also see my fellow-man as God created him, as children of God – perfect, pure, upright and free.

‘And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but perceivest not the beam that is in thine own eye?’ Luke 6:41

 ‘Lord, now lettest thou thy servant depart in peace, according to thy word:  For mine eyes have seen thy salvation,  Which thou hast prepared before the face of all people;’ Luke 2:29-31

All things are delivered to me of my Father: and no man knoweth who the Son is, but the Father; and who the Father is, but the Son, and he to whom the Son will reveal him. And he turned him unto his disciples, and said privately, Blessed are the eyes which see the things that ye see: For I tell you, that many prophets and kings have desired to see those things which ye see, and have not seen them; and to hear those things which ye hear, and have not heard them.’ Luke 10:22-24

‘The Lord our God is one Lord: And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment. And the second is like, namely this, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. There is none other commandment greater than these.’ Mark 12:29-31

This entry was posted in Bible Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

