Work out your own salvation

Have you ever experienced a time when God is trying to tell you something but you are either just not listening or not getting the message clearly?

I ask God what do I need to know and kept opening my bible to the same verse. The first time I just thought I wasn’t quite tuned into God.  After the second and third time I told God I didn’t get how it related to me. What am I meant to understand from these verses.

 I know I’m married, but I am divorced.  I have divorced my husband and I am not looking to be married to another. How can I be committing adultery? Honestly what has this to do with me?  It got to the point the forth time that I started to write down the verses trying to understand it’s spiritual significance.  I left it half done but got a glimpse though I couldn’t quite articulate it in thought. I wasn’t quite getting the spiritual meaning yet and I kept thinking how it seemed to really have no relevance to me, after all.  The fifth time, same passage I left my bible open on the page.

I picked it up and read it and the message for me was clear as crystal. Sometimes we just have to be patient, wait patiently, never doubting that God will reveal what we need to know.

The laws of the material world have dominion over the material and while we accept this material existence as reality we are bound by it. However, if we adhere to the laws of God, Spirit, the laws of the flesh, materialism are as if dead. That is, it has no existence, no substance to us and we understand its unreality.  When this happens we are free from the laws of the flesh, the bondage of materialism.

When the law of materialism that bounds us is dead to us we are no longer committing spiritual adultery, breaking the first commandment. While we seem to live in this so called material existence of the flesh when we identify with Christ, ‘we are absent from the body and present with the Lord’.

Romans 7:1-4

‘Know ye not, brethren, (for I speak to them that know the law,) how that the law hath dominion over a man as long as he liveth?  For the woman which hath an husband is bound by the law to her husband so long as he liveth; but if the husband be dead, she is loosed from the law of her husband.  So then if, while her husband liveth, she be married to another man, she shall be called an adulteress: but if her husband be dead, she is free from that law; so that she is no adulteress, though she be married to another man. Wherefore, my brethren, ye also are become dead to the law by the body of Christ; that ye should be married to another, even to him who is raised from the dead, that we should bring forth fruit unto God.’

‘Wherefore, my beloved, as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.’ Philippians 2:12

‘Fear not, little flock; for it is your Father’s good pleasure to give you the kingdom.’    Luke 12:32

‘He that abideth in the doctrine of Christ, he hath both the Father and the Son.’                   2 John 1:9

But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.’ John 14:26

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

