Destined to Live

I love to read now days.  When I was younger it wasn’t something I was really good at.  Somewhat like writing, but I think the more you practice something the better you get at it.

When I was 19 my dad passed on in a road accident.  I got a few of his treasured books.  One being ‘Jonathoan Livingston Seagull a story’ by Richard Bach.  In the back of the book my dad has written ‘Richard Bach expressing his understanding of Christian Science in a most delightful way.’  Yes I still have it and looking at the writing on the back page it looks more like my mothers handwriting than my fathers but at the time, and I guess I needed to think it, I thought it was my fathers handwriting. I always thought he had made that comment, in any case I have held that belief until today!

I remember reading that book, so bewildered in how my life seemed to be falling apart. I read it over and over and cried and cried.  Why couldn’t I be more like Jonathoan? Well this book I picked up on Saturday was like that.  I think I could read it again and cry. I am always inspired by those who stand up for what they know is right and true, even in the face of adversity, let alone death.  The movie Rowanda, Rosewood,  Schinders List are all examples of these.

“Whoever saves one life saves the world entire.” Talmudic quote.

I remember when I was around 7 years old asking my mother what happens to bad people when they die? I recall having to ask her twice as she didn’t answer me the first time.  She told me ‘well, they have to learn lessons and they will keep repeating the lessons until they learn them’.  I asked her well what happens if they never learn the lessons? Her reply was that ‘they just do, in the end, they just do’.  That was the end of that conversation.

What I’ve learnt though over the years is that I was asking the question from a very materialistic mortal standpoint. The carnal mind wars with the spiritual.  The warfare is against principalities, beliefs and errors. They only have existence if we accept them as our own. As mortals, how are we to overcome death if we accept principalities opposed to God?  How do we overcome mortality? In God’s kingdom all is spiritual and good, pure, loving and righteous. Know this and walk therein so much as you understand!

‘neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come,  Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God,’ Romans 8:38-39

‘Be not overcome of evil, but overcome evil with good.’ Romans 12:21″

‘At all times and under all circumstances, overcome evil with good. Know thyself, and God will supply the wisdom and the occasion for a victory over evil. Clad in the panoply of Love, human hatred cannot reach you. The cement of a higher humanity will unite all interests in the one divinity. S & H 571:15

A knowledge of evil was (is) never the essence of divinity or manhood. S & H 537:10

This book ‘Destined to Live’ is a biography of a jewish survivor of the holocaust. It is a history of survival, overcoming trails and temptations. It is a horror story, it is a love story, it is the story of a very brave young girl who survived, who questioned her faith in God as what she witnessed (to mortal sense) was evil beyond comprehension. It is a story that must be told and shared so that every (so called) mortal can learn from the experience. Let us never be complacent. Let us never ignore the call to defend and protect the good, the true and innocence for ourselves or others.

Destined to Live – One Woman’s War, Life, Loves Remembered

“I understood, that while anti-Semitism had been my particular burden to bear, prejudice and hatred in any form, whether it be against blacks, or Asians, or Muslims, or women, demeaned humanity and contained within it the seeds of evil.  I understood, and wanted future generations to understand, that those who remained silent in the face of prejudice and hatred gave prejudice and hatred permission not only to exist but to flourish. ”

“I am my mother’s daughter. I believe in giving to those less fortunate than me and in telling the truth. I believe in love and in beauty. I believe in a kind of cosmic consciousness and in the possibility of changing the world for the better”.

Extracts of Speech: Sabina Van Der Linden, nee Haberman, Holocaust survivor 10 May 2005

“For I am the voice of the six million tortured and murdered Jews of which one and a half million were children, and I am also the voice of the lucky few – the voice of the survivors.  I am the only one of my whole family who survived.  I am a witness to unbearable crimes against humanity…”

“And what are my thoughts and my feelings … what have I learned from my bitter experience? I have learned that hatred begets hatred.  I have learned that we must not remain silent and that each of us as an individual must fight the evil of racism, discrimination, prejudice, inhumanity.”

“We face our future, confident in the ultimate triumph of the human spirit over brute force.  A victory not only for Jewish people, but a victory for all decent people over evil”

This entry was posted in Faith, Love, Peace, Prinicple, Truth and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Destined to Live

  1. Pingback: Running Through Life’s Lesson « WriteRunner3

Leave a Reply

