Overcoming Shame and Guilt

God forgives!  That is such wonderful news for some of us.  Others don’t seem to give to hoots but it is still important to know the Truth.  God gives and as his children we give.

God knows exactly what is going on because he knows all.  He knows our purpose, he is our purpose! Patiently guiding us to work it out ~ ‘to awake in his likeness’.  Healing comes like the rainbow after the storm, removal of all shame, guilt, grief, history etc resulting in reformation.  Although shame and guilt must be forgiven (in yourself and by others) and forgotten, the learning from the experience if there is to be learning, needs to be retained so that we can move on and up!

Shame: 1 a: painful emotion caused by consciousness of guilt, shortcoming, or impropriety. 1b: the susceptibility to such emotion. 2: a condition of humiliating disgrace or disrepute  3 a : something that brings censure or reproach; also :something to be regretted : Pity. b : a cause of feeling shame

I also think of shame as disappointment – something regretted.  It’s a carnal trap to get caught in the den of thieves of what ifs, of maybes or could have beens. God is here and now, full stop.  There is no point in me thinking that it is a shame I never read all these books years ago or how much better informed I could be if only….  Now is the time to address the mistake, make the correction, learn the lesson and never turn back, else the mistake will attempt follow me!  After all this mistake only exists because I allow it.  And it will continue to exist, be it in different forms until the mistake is  found and corrected, be it destroyed, reversed or repaired or simply let go, brushed aside.  All mistakes errors must yield to Truth at some point, thus proving the all-ness and oneness of God, Love.

Regardless of the detail of the mistake, all mistakes are mistakes, reformation is essential. That is ‘to be born new’.  To move up and higher especially if our goal is to always ‘Abide in Christ’, we must purify our selves in thought and deed.  ‘In him we live and move and have our being’.  ‘Mere legal pardon (and there is no other, for divine Principle never pardons our sins or mistakes till they are corrected leaves the offender free to repeat the offense, if indeed, he has not already suffered sufficiently from vice to make him turn from it with loathing. S&H Prayer – Truth annihilates error. 11:12-18

‘As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.’ Revelation 3:17-19 Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up.’ James 4:10 1In thee, O LORD, do I put my trust: let me never be put to confusion. Deliver me in thy righteousness, and cause me to escape: incline thine ear unto me, and save me. Be thou my strong habitation, whereunto I may continually resort: thou hast given commandment to save me; for thou art my rock and my fortress.’ Psalms 71:1-3

‘In thee, O LORD, do I put my trust; let me never be ashamed: deliver me in thy righteousness.’ Psalm 31:1 ‘And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment. And the second is like, namely this, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. There is none other commandment greater than these.’ Mark 12:30-32

‘Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted. Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth. Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.’ Matthew 5:4-6

As Children of God, we are pure, innocent, unashamed and guilt free.

‘And forgive us our sins (mistakes and misunderstandings); for we also forgive every one that is indebted to us.’ Luke 11:4  ‘And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.’ Matthew 6:12

‘I will put my laws into their hearts, and in their minds will I write them; And their sins and iniquities will I remember no more. Now where remission of these is, there is no more offering for sin.’ Hebrews 10:16-18

1For the law having a shadow of good things to come, and not the very image of the things, can never with those sacrifices which they offered year by year continually make the comers thereunto perfect. For then would they not have ceased to be offered? because that the worshippers once purged should have had no more consciousness of sins. But in those sacrifices there is a remembrance again made of sins every year. Hebrews 10:1-3

‘When Jesus had lifted up himself, and saw none but the woman, he said unto her, Woman, where are those thine accusers? hath no man condemned thee? She said, No man, Lord. And Jesus said unto her, Neither do I condemn thee: go, and sin no more.

 Then spake Jesus again unto them, saying, I am the light of the world: he that followeth me shall not walk in darkness, but shall have the light of life’ John 8:10-12

Stand porter at the door of thought. Your decisions will master you, whichever direction they take. Perform your office as porter and shut out these unhealthy thoughts and fears.  Exclude from mortal mind the offending errors; then the body (your experience) cannot suffer from them.’  S&H 392:24, 22-23, 29-32

Forgive others, forgive ourselves, search out peace and love and you will find God

This entry was posted in Forgiveness, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Overcoming Shame and Guilt

  1. Pingback: Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted. Matthew 5:4 « bummyla

  2. Pingback: shaming shame « power of language blog: partnering with reality by JR Fibonacci

Leave a Reply

